Proof of Concept Projects

2018 Grant Recipients

Mr Patrick Coughlin, Vascular Surgeon at Addenbrookes Hospital, Cambridge and co-PIs Mr. M. Powar, Dr. L Zielenski, members of the Cambridge Medtech Foundation Committee, Miss Charlotte Taylor (vascular scientists); received funding for their proposal, “The effect of neurostimulation on patient relevant outcomes in patients with intermittent claudication: a feasibility study“.

Dr James Fullerton, NIHR Clinical Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics at University College London and co-investigators Dr David Walker (Consultant in Anaesthesia, Perioperative Medicine and Critical Care, UCLH), Mr Alastair Windsor (Consultant Colorectal Surgeon, UCLH), Dr Richard Day (Reader in Regenerative Medicine, UCL), Professor Nicolas Szita (Professor of Bioprocess Microfluidics, UCL); received funding for their proposal, “Ex-vivo Perioperative IMmune Monitoring“.

Dr Peter Worsley and co-investigators Dr Luciana Bostan, Prof Dan Bader from the University of Southampton, and Dr Angela Darekar and Dr Chris Everitt from University Hospitals Southampton Foundation Trust; received funding for their proposal, “A Novel Evaluation of Radiotherapy Positioning Boards: Optimising Safety in Design“.

Dr Yeshwanth Pulijala from Scalpel Ltd and co-investigators Dr. Dominic Furniss (Human Factors), Dr. Mark Alexander Sujan (Patient Safety), Prof. Shafi Ahmed (Consultant Surgeon),  and Dr. Tom Clutton Brock, Trauma MIC; received funding for their proposal, “Technical iteration and evaluation of Smart Check – a novel surgical safety solution“.

Dr Owain Fisher, Clinical Research Fellow, Vascular Surgery at University Hospital Coventry and Warwickshire received funding for their proposal, “Purine nucleosides as a novel biomarker for acute limb ischaemia“.

Professor Anant Paradkar, Director at the Centre for Pharmaceutical Engineering Science (CPES), University of Bradford and co-investigators Mr Rajshekhar Rao, Consultant, Airdale General Hospital and Director RG and Company, Ilkley, Dr Sudhir Pagire (SP), Research and Knowledge Transfer Officer, Dr Sachin Korde: Sachin Korde (SK), Post-Doctoral Research Assistant, Centre for Pharmaceutical Engineering Science (CPES); received funding for their proposal, ” Innovative solution for Polyp-lifting“.


2019 Grant Recipients

Ms Louise Hitchman from Hull University Teaching Hospital NHS Trust and co-investigators Professor Matthew Hardman, Chair in Wound Healing, Hull York Medical School, Mr George Smith Senior Lecturer in Vascular Surgery, Hull University Teaching Hospital NHS Trust; received funding for their proposal, “Extracorporeal Shockwave Therapy for the treatment of Diabetic Foot Wounds; pilot mechanistic evaluation“.

Dr Joseph Norton & Prof. Pietro Valdastri (Co-PI) from STORM Lab UK, School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds and co-investigators Dr James McLaughlan (University Academic Fellow (joint Faculty of Engineering and Medicine & Health). School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Leeds) and Dr Damian Downey (Clinical Senior Lecturer and Co-director of the European Cystic Fibrosis Clinical Trials Network. Queen’s University Belfast, Belfast, N. Ireland)
Dr Keith Obstein (Associate Professor of Medicine and Mechanical Engineering, Division of Gastroenterology, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee USA); received funding for their proposal, “An innovation in same-day bowel cleaning and blockage removal“.

Dr Stefan Williams from the Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust and co-investigators Dr Hui Fang and Dr Andrew Lewington; received funding for their proposal, “Computer vision to automatically monitor urine output“.

Dr Gordon Moran Clinical Associate Professor of Gastroenterology at NIHR Nottingham Biomedical Research Centre and co-investigators Professor Gowland, Professor of Physics at University of Nottingham; Professor Taylor, Professor of Medical Imaging at University College London; and Dr Mukherjee, Clinical Associate Professor of Histopathology at Queen’s Medical centre Campus, University Of Nottingham; received funding for their proposal, “Towards Precision Medicine: a MagnEtic Resonance Imaging-based measure of fibrosis in enTeric Crohn’s disease. The MERIT pilot study“.

Ms Rachel Falconer Vascular trainee and MD student, University of Aberdeen/NHS Highland and co-investigators Professor Angus Watson (Consultant general surgeon, NHS Highland), Ms Catriona Semple (Consultant vascular surgeon, NHS Tayside), Professor Jen Cleland (Chair of Medical Education Research, University of Aberdeen) and Professor Ken Walker (Consultant general surgeon, NHS Highland) received funding for their proposal, “Developing 3-D printed hydrogel models for a national programme of home-based vascular simulation training“.

Mr Thomas Franchi from MEDeus Ltd received funding for the company’s proposal, “Health Economics for drone usage within the NHS“.



2020 Grant Recipients

Dr Dinesh Selvarajah from Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust; and co-investigator Professor Neil D. Reeves, Professor of Musculoskeletal Biomechanics and Faculty Head of Research and Knowledge Exchange, Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU), received funding for their proposal, “Diabetic foot ulcer prevention using PelliTec pads”.

Dr Kiran Desai from Eureka Inventions Ltd received funding for the company’s proposal, “Swab Counting Medical device”.

Mr. Samuel Moorcroft from University of Leeds, received funding his proposal “SARS-COV-2 Antibody Testing – Development of A Novel Rapid Assay With Enhanced Colourimetric Detection of IgM and IgG using Atomically Thin Gold Nanoenzymes”.

Dr Sarah Hosgood and Professor Michael Nicholson from University of Cambridge, received funding for their proposal “A novel 3D printed organ perfusion chamber for prolonged normothermic machine perfusion of transplant kidneys”.

Elena Mustatea from Bold Health received funding for the company proposal, “Personalised and set of proven behavioural-change and stress-reduction tools to enable self-treatment for individuals with IBS”.

2021 Grant Recipients

Dr Ramisha Rehman from Neotherix; received funding for the proposal, “The benefits of EktoTherix for Secondary Intention Wound Healing and Skin Grafting”.

Mr Aaron Quyn from University of Leeds received funding for a proposal on, “Low-level light therapy to modulate the microbiome in patients with diversion proctitis “.

Mr Daniel Osei-Bordom and Mr Shazaad Ashraf from University Hospitals Birmingham received funding for their proposal “The Use of a Risk-Stratifying Artificial Intelligence Volumetric Sarcopenia Tool for Surgical Patients Highlighting Those in Need Of Peri-operative Nutritional and Physical Optimisation.”